Welcome to Elphinstone

June is Pride Month!

Regional Districts don’t make proclamations or hold flag raising ceremonies like municipalities do, but we wanted to acknowledge Pride Month on the Sunshine Coast, so we sent out the fashion memo for our board meeting on June 13. Special thanks to the team for being good sports, and welcome to Alvina Paul who has replaced Keith Julius at the board table.

The whole team celebrates pride! Len Lee (Area A), Andreas Tize (Area D), Tom Lamb (Sechelt), Alvina Paul (Sechelt Nation), Darnelda Siegers (Sechelt, Vice Chair), Lori Pratt (Area B, Chair), self, Bill Beamish (Town of Gibsons), Mark Hiltz (Area F).

This website is the constituency information site for Area E of the Sunshine Coast Regional District (in BC, not Australia!). Please visit occasionally and join my email list for newsletters and updates on SCRD issues.

The SCRD is facing a number of critical challenges including expanding our water supply, figuring out what to do with our garbage when the landfill closes, and both mitigating and preparing for climate change. Government is a lumbering beast and nudging it to change course is not be easy, but the newly elected Sunshine Coast representatives are working together collaboratively to find solutions to our problems.

Swearing in ceremony at the SCRD Nov. 8, 2018. Back row L to R: Mark Hiltz (Area F), Keith Julius (SIGD), Len Lee (Area A), Andreas Tize (Area D), Tom Lamb (Sechelt), Bill Beamish (Gibsons). Front Row: Me, Lori Pratt (Area B, Chair), Darnelda Siegers (Sechelt, Vice Chair).